The MICRO-FILM Review

A Weblog of Personal Cinema in Action

Happy Thanksgiving from MICRO-FILM!

It’s a cliche, which we’re not particularly fond of ’round here at the Secret MICRO-FILM Headquarters, but with these less than stellar economic times – buoyed somewhat by an election cycle that has brought about more hope than sustained dismay – we certainly have to be thankful for what and whom we have in our lives. We hope that you will have a peaceful Thanksgiving this week with your family and friends. Cheers to all!

As to all the quiet here on this Midwestern front as of late … we’ll be posting some important news during the next few weeks about the future of MICRO-FILM. It may be inevitable, but the pathway towards conclusion is not exactly what you’d expect.

~ Jason Pankoke

Written by japan70

November 25, 2008 at 1:22 am

Posted in Greetings

Review :: SUGAR

SUGAR
Golden, Jolley, Reynolds

by Jeff McCoy

Your outer breath stops and you experience stark reality;
   your immaculate naked awareness clear.
At that instant you must recognize it as yourself.
The Bardo Thodol

With a quote as enigmatic as its title, SUGAR opens with its silent, nameless protagonist (Samara Golden) cowering in a refrigerator. Venturing out into her squalid, debris-strewn apartment, she removes the grating from a crawlspace and drags out a corpse which may belong to the former tenant Anthony. Answering machine messages from concerned individuals – mother, landlord, creditors – indicate that Anthony was on a downward spiral before his (apparent) disappearance. As the apartment’s new occupant clears out detritus, she begins to uncover disturbing clues that Anthony’s spirit may be lingering. Is Anthony dead, and if so, did the young woman kill him? Is she insane? Or has Anthony’s own insanity seeped into the apartment itself, infecting its new tenant?

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by japan70

March 14, 2008 at 11:24 pm

Posted in Reviews

Review :: ROCKET SCIENCE

ROCKET SCIENCE
Duly Noted, Inc./B&W Films

by L. Rob Hubbard

A confession upfront – high school coming-of-age stories are not my favorite film genre. ROCKET SCIENCE is such a film, despite a title that infers something along the lines of OCTOBER SKY or other NASA-related subjects. Instead, it concentrates on the suffering of a young misfit with a stuttering problem (Reece Daniel Thompson) who is recruited by a pushy student (Anna Kendrick) into joining the school’s debate team, seeming to commit a good amount of the sins of the genre and of “hip” indie comedy at first glance.

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by japan70

March 7, 2008 at 1:38 am

Posted in Reviews

Review :: EVILMAKER DOUBLE FEATURE

EVILMAKER DOUBLE FEATURE
Pipedreams Entertainment

by Jason Pankoke

Poverty-row programmers of the contemporary sort, John Bowker’s THE EVILMAKER and ABOMINATION: THE EVILMAKER II appeared amidst the early flood of shot-on-video, no budget horror movies a while back, landing on labels that didn’t give them much of a push. The fine B-movie folks at Tempe Video have elected to hustle this mildly entertaining duo back into the marketplace with a spruced-up double-feature DVD, which the undemanding will find packs enough old-fashioned titillation and thrills to make it worth the peek.

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by japan70

March 1, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Posted in Reviews

Review :: JANE WHITE IS SICK & TWISTED

JANE WHITE IS SICK & TWISTED
D & K Enterprises

by Damian Duffy

There is a scene towards the end of JANE WHITE IS SICK & TWISTED in which the eponymous heroine attempts suicide. The brief hope that this shrieking caricature of a human being may come to a merciful end is the one shining moment in this otherwise execrable … thing.

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by japan70

February 22, 2008 at 11:22 pm

Posted in Reviews

Review :: SUFFERING THE LEGITIMACY…

SUFFERING THE LEGITIMACY OF AESTHETICS
J.M. Magrini

by L. Rob Hubbard

SUFFERING THE LEGITIMACY OF AESTHETICS is an experimental film which its filmmaker synopsizes as “a film that explores art as a legitimate species of autonomous knowledge.” Um, yeah.

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by japan70

February 16, 2008 at 1:27 pm

Posted in Reviews

Review :: PREMUTOS

PREMUTOS: LORD OF THE LIVING DEAD
IMAS Filmproduction

by Dr. Squid 

If you’re picking up something that A. sports LORD OF THE LIVING DEAD as its subtitle, B. is from Germany, and C. is made by a director with a name like Olaf Ittenbach, you’re betting it’s going to be chock full of blood and gore. To illustrate how proudly this horror flick delivers the goods, just before the end credits roll the total body count is displayed: 139. Damn!

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by japan70

February 7, 2008 at 10:18 pm

Posted in Reviews

Feature :: Tripod Films Braces for Success

Tripod Films’ Journey from Comedy to Horror
The making of DRAWING BLOOD and WITCHCRAFT 13

by Michael Wolinski and Jeffrey Wolinski

Ever since a young age, we’ve had a passion to shoot films, create art, and express our deepest emotions and thoughts through cinema. We both attended film school, Michael at Southern Illinois University and Jeffrey at the University of Illinois, and although some say that film school is a waste, we learned a great deal. We were influenced by films shown to us in class that we would have never seen otherwise. We also learned what type of filmmakers we wanted to be by the time we finished school. We did not want to end up like the teachers who had only shot exercises for their classes, or the many arrogant students who acted like they knew everything and should already be in Hollywood, eating with Mr. Spielberg at The Ivy and adopting kids.

The thrill of being an independent filmmaker is that you are able to go out and shoot any type of film you want. When we started planning to shoot our first production, we went for what we thought came naturally – comedy – and dove right into THE AFTER SCHOOL SPECIAL, in which we took chances with sight gags, language, and uncomfortable high school situations, turning them all upside down. From an artistic standpoint we were fulfilled, and the project went on to play dozens of domestic and international film festivals.

Since THE AFTER SCHOOL SPECIAL played all these events and won numerous awards, we thought that was all that it took. In no time, we were going to be making bigger films with name actors and actually raising and earning money for what we loved to do. We were on such a high from all the adulations that we went out and made a second comedy feature, MY BROTHER’S LIGHT, which did not have as much of an impact even though it was also an incredibly fulfilling piece. Now, we just had to wait for the calls to come in.

Needless to say, this did not happen. Eight years later, neither one of these award-winning, critically acclaimed independent features have seen distribution. Why? How could this be? Well, as all distribution companies will say, “A comedy is a tough sell if you don’t have a big ‘name’ in it. Do you have anything else?” You can believe in a project all you want but, if no one sees it, what is the point?

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by japan70

February 1, 2008 at 10:25 am

Posted in Features

Review :: UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS VS. A MUMMY

THE UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS VS. A MUMMY
Illini Film & Video

by Jeff McCoy

Please click here to read the review on our sister site, C-U Blogfidential!

 

Written by japan70

January 26, 2008 at 3:07 am

Posted in Reviews

Review :: BRAINWARP and THE REMOVERS

BRAINWARP
THE REMOVERS

King Robot Films

by Tim Mitchell

A person really has to love comic books to make fun of them. That certainly seems to be the case with Jon Schnepp and Eric Hoffman in their masterpiece, BRAINWARP. The title character, played with a twinkle in his eye by screenwriter Hoffman, is billed as the dumbest super-villain. For example, Brainwarp briefly considers cutting off his own hand so he won’t leave any fingerprints. He trudges through life messing up crime after crime, usually accompanied by his even dumber sidekick, LaFoot (Bill Chott). Apparently a born-again Christian, LaFoot dreams of the Virgin Mary and believes he can assist Brainwarp by quoting scripture.

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by japan70

January 26, 2008 at 12:38 am

Posted in Reviews